Listen Live on  

101.5 WIBA FM

Madison's Classic Rock

The President honors responding officers at Sikh shooting

The President honors responding officers at Sikh shooting
Posted May 13th, 2013 @ 7:39am by The Associated Press

President Barack Obama has given eight police officers who responded to the Sikh temple shooting in suburban Milwaukee last August national law enforcement awards.

The ceremony was held at the White House on Saturday morning, the Journal-Sentinel reports ( ).

Obama singled out Lt. Brian Murphy, who was the first to arrive and suffered 12 bullet wounds. The others were Savan "Sam'' Lenda, John H. Finco, Julie M. Grauberger, Dean Kleinhans, Michael Shultz, Derick Slamka and Kelly Romel.

On Aug. 5, a gunman opened fire at the Sikh Temple of Wisconsin in Oak Creek, killing six and injuring three. He then killed himself.

Jim Palmer, executive director of the Wisconsin Professional Police Association, said Obama spoke for about 15 minutes and met with the officers after.

Get more on this story here, thanks to our news partners at 620 WTMJ.

Recommended Stories

More from 101.5 WIBA FM