Mayim Bialik has really been under the microscope during her time filling in as host of Jeopardy. It seems like just about everything the actress does winds up getting criticized by some fans of the game show. Well what went down on Monday's episode of the iconic program not only upset Bialik's passionate haters, but even viewers who are okay with her behind the podium.
During the game's "Jeopardy" round, or as Mayim calls it, "Single Jeopardy," there was a clue that asked, "You can lead a horse to water but you can't do this." Reigning champion Megan Wachpress buzzed in and stated, "What is drink...what is make..." but before she had a chance to correct herself, Bialik cut her off and ruled her incorrect, yet as Mayim was declaring "no," Wachpress was still answering, saying, "What is make them drink." Another contestant then rang in with "What is make them drink," and she was given the $400 for the correct response.
Twitter was incensed. One person wrote, "WTF, Mayim cuts her off mid-delivery and says 'no' before she could expand her answer," while another said, "She’s apt to be too quick with No's. I noticed as well," and one other asserted, "'Jeopardy' just cheated Megan."
The show's producers clearly saw it happen too and after the round, Mayim had to humbly announce, "Before we get to 'Double Jeopardy,' we have a change in score to announce and Megan it affects you. The judges have reviewed the tape and you did begin your correct response before I ruled you incorrect. In the 'Horse Idioms' category we will be adding $800 to your score the scores are now correct."
This pleased Twitter. Tweets included, "Megan CLEARLY started her second response before Mayim's ruling. Good call to overturn that miss."
Many fans are already upset with the show after an incident on Friday that saw contestant Sadie Goldberger lose because her 'Final Jeopardy' response wasn't legible enough. When her answer was shown, Mayim said, "It looks like you were going for 'Harriet Tubman' but you did not finish, so unfortunately that is not going to be acceptable." However, most viewers were easily able to make out what Sadie had written.
Had Sadie been ruled correct, Megan would no longer be the champion. As it stands, Megan notched her fifth win on Monday and has earned herself $52,000 so far.
Megan also took some time over the weekend to comment on the controversial ruling on Friday's show, tweeting, "It's probably inappropriate for me to say anything about the judges' call in FJ yesterday (you can see my immediate reaction on the tape). But will say I'd love to see Sadie compete again (if she wants to!)."
See if she wins again tonight.